No announcement yet.

Malcolm Brogdon Wins Rookie Of The Year

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Malcolm Brogdon Wins Rookie Of The Year

    NBA names winner for Coach of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Most Improved Player

    Milwaukee Bucks guard Malcolm Brogdon beat out the Philadelphia 76ers duo of Joel Embiid and Dario Saric to win Rookie of the Year.

    Brogdon -- taken with the 36th overall pick in the second round of last year's draft -- became the only non-first round winner in the common draft era (since 1966), according to Elias Sports Bureau.

    "This is a testament to guys who are overlooked, guys who are second-round picks," Brogdon said. "... A lot of times you are not going to fit in; a lot of times you are going to have to skip those parties to get to where you want to be."

    Brogdon had averages of 10.2 points and 4.2 assists this past season -- the lowest of any winner -- but became the second player in Bucks franchise history to win the honor, joining Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (1969-70).

    Brogdon helped lead the Bucks back to playoffs, where they lost in the first round to the Toronto Raptors.

    Brogdon, who played college ball at Virginia, is the first player to win ACC Player of the Year and NBA Rookie of the Year since Elton Brand in 1999-2000.