No announcement yet.

Todd Gurley Wins 2017 NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Todd Gurley Wins 2017 NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award

    Rams win Coach of the Year, player awards; Saints take rookie honors

    Todd Gurley II and Aaron Donald, won the Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year awards, respectively -- capping a remarkable turnaround season for the Rams.

    Gurley's 1,305 rushing yards, 13 rushing touchdowns and six TD receptions during the Rams' campaign earned him top offensive honors for the year. The third-year running back was the AP's top offensive rookie in 2015, then had a mediocre second season.

    Gurley got 37 votes, which put him far ahead of Pittsburgh receiver Antonio Brown, who received eight votes. Patriots quarterback Tom Brady got four and Houston receiver DeAndre Hopkins had one.

    "It just tells you the type of players we have on the team. We all help each other out, absolutely. We have some talent, but we're nothing without the whole nine yards and everybody together," Gurley said.

    Only two other Rams players have ever won the offensive player award -- Eric Dickerson (one) and Marshall Faulk (three).

    The Rams' hat trick of awards was not unprecedented. In 2003, Baltimore's Ray Lewis was top defensive player, Jamal Lewis won best offensive player, and Terrell Suggs was Defensive Rookie of the Year. And in 1999, the St. Louis Rams had three award winners: Kurt Warner (MVP), Marshall Faulk (Offensive Player) and Dick Vermeil (Coach).