No announcement yet.

Matt Nagy Wins 2018 NFL Coach of the Year Award

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Matt Nagy Wins 2018 NFL Coach of the Year Award

    2018 NFL Awards Roundup

    In his first season as Bears coach, Matt Nagy won the league's top honor for his profession.

    For taking the perennial also-ran Bears to a 12-4 record and the NFC North championship, Nagy earned 24 votes. That was well ahead of the Chargers' Anthony Lynn, who got 10 votes.

    Nagy has overseen the development of quarterback Mitchell Trubisky, who blossomed in his second pro season, and saw a defense befitting the "Monsters of the Midway" dominate opponents at times. He is the fifth Bears coach to win the award, joining team founder George Halas (1963, 1965), Mike Ditka (1985, 1988), Dick Jauron (2001) and Lovie Smith (2005).

    In a season when many coaches did exceptional work, four others also received votes. The Colts' Frank Reich got eight, followed by the Chiefs' Andy Reid (five), the Seahawks' Pete Carroll (two) and the Saints' Sean Payton (one).