No announcement yet.

Jason Garrett Wins 2016 NFL Coach of the Year Award

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Jason Garrett Wins 2016 NFL Coach of the Year Award

    NFL honors best players at awards ceremony

    The Cowboys' Jason Garrett was named AP NFL Coach of the Year.

    Garrett led Dallas to an NFC-best 13-3 record in a turnaround season before the Cowboys lost to Green Bay in the playoffs.

    In his seventh season at the Cowboys' helm, Garrett used two rookies, Prescott and Elliott, operating behind a terrific offensive line, to lift Dallas to its best record in nine years.

    "This is an extension of our football team and I really accept it on their behalf,'' said Garrett, who took over as Dallas coach in 2010. "I coach with some really great guys and I'm really fortunate to coach with so many great players that go about it the right way, and it's really just an extension of that. It's a team award.''

    The Cowboys also had the third-stingiest scoring defense in the NFC.

    Garrett received 25 votes from a nationwide panel. He easily outdistanced New England's Bill Belichick (14 votes). Miami's Adam Gase got six, Oakland's Jack Del Rio four, and Kansas City's Andy Reid one.

    Garrett is the first Dallas coach to win the award since Jimmy Johnson in 1990. Tom Landry won it in 1966.