EDMONTON, Alberta -- The Tampa Bay Lightning are the champions of bubble hockey.

Brayden Point scored his playoff-best 14th goal, and the Lightning beat the Dallas Stars 2-0 on Monday to win the Stanley Cup and finish the most unusual NHL postseason in history.

The ultra-talented Lightning, one of the league's top teams not to win the title the past five years, finally completed the complicated puzzle that is the Stanley Cup playoffs, securing their first championship since 2004. They defeated the Columbus Blue Jackets; the Boston Bruins, the league's No. 1 team in the regular season; and the New York Islanders before eliminating the Stars in a marathon through two Canadian bubble sites that featured multiple overtimes and plenty of drama.

In 2004, the Lightning won the title with the league on the verge of a labor stoppage, a lockout that wiped out an entire season. The franchise is used to winning with uncertainty hovering around the league.