Box Busting Isn't For Everyone

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Box Busting Isn't For Everyone

I've been collecting off and on for the past thirty-three years. And up until a few years ago... busting boxes of sports cards was one of my favorite things to do. The excitement of tearing into the wrapper and seeking that certain card. Maybe it was the case hit. Maybe it was the final card for the set I was building. Either way... it was worth every penny.

As soon as I'd cash my paycheck, I'd head straight to the local card shop, and have my very own cardboard party.

Then one day I woke up and something changed. The entertainment factor and card values weren't adding up to the cost of the box break. I reevaluated the way I purchased my cards, completely switched gears, and made the decision to stop purchasing boxes and started spending my money on singles and sets I wanted.

I decided to let others enjoy the risk and reward factors of box busting, while I enjoyed saving space and hand selecting cards for my collection. It was a win/win decision. But every now and then, I'll still get that itch. And a few weeks ago, I relieved it with this box of 1993 Ted Williams Baseball:

I found it on eBay and the guy accepted my $25 (shipping included) offer. For those of you who aren't familiar with this set, it was the Ted Williams Card Company'sinaugural release. The 160 card set consists of formerMLB, Negro Leagues, and All-American Girls' Professional Baseball Leagueplayers and was printed on UV-coated card stock.

Here's a look at the Steve Carlton'sbase card:

I really enjoy the standard issue base card's dual image design and the awesome information on the card backs. They include statistics from the player's five best seasons, along with a small biography supposedly written by Ted Williams.