Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Card Types to Submit to Grading Services

Hi All,

Wanted to pick your brains and experience. When you look through your modern day cards to pick out what you plan to submit to grading services like BGS/PSA etc. I was curious as to which types of cards from your experience each year gave you two things:

1) Better consistency of getting 9 or higher grading?
    2) Best increase in sell value realized in the graded card over the raw card?

Please list your experiences by including: the Brand, the specific card type (Base/RC, Inserts, Parallels, etc.) and lowest point attribute (corners, surface, etc.)

Thank you,

Ed

I don't think this is really answers your question but I have a few opinions on grading. I am by no means an expert but I've done the grading thing a handful of times so I now have a very basic criteria for sending cards in to BGS.

- First it has to already be a valuable card cause I don't really think it's worth it to spend the money to grade cards that book $10-$15. Unless you get a Gem Mint 10 chances are the value will remain at around $10-$15 so it won't be worth it.
    When you consider the Beckett grading fees and return shipping fees and insurance and shipping the cards to them you're gonna spend quite a bit to grade a card so you want to make sure getting it graded will be worth the money you're gonna spend.

- Which leads me to my next thing. I would never send in just one card to grade cause again, the fees can get a bit pricey even for just one card, so you're better off sending in at least 2 or 3. It kind of maximizes your chances of getting back at least one at a high grade which would then make it worth the money and effort to send them in.