Sure could use some pointers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sure could use some pointers

Hi there. My brother recently passed away after a short illness and I inherited his HUGE collection of cards - mostly baseball, but he also had some hockey, football, and basketball cards. I am a total novice at this and don't know where to begin. I loved him dearly and miss him much; however, organizational skills weren't his strong point! The boxes are stacked 5 feet high and about 12 feet wide and as far as I can tell there isn't much rhyme or reason to how they are organized. HELP! Where do I begin? What is the best way to organize them - by set, by player, by team, by year, by brand? I'm not in any big hurry to get rid of them; although they are taking up a lot of space, but I don't want to give them away either. I would have to guess there are at least 20,000 cards and most likely more. Any tips on where to start would be helpful. He does have a couple of albums, but even those seem to be really randomly "organized". Although I did find one that has an entire 1989 set (lacking 1 card); which doesn't appear to worth much at all. Is there a list somewhere of what cards are worth selling individually - for instance valued at more than $5? I would gladly go through them to find any of value and then try to sell the rest in bulk. Anyway, any tips anyone would care to share would be much appreciated. Thanks! MellyMay from MN

Melly May- welcome to the site. I'm sorry to hear about your loss. First thing I would do is check which years of cards your brother had. Unfortunately, cards from 1987-1998 are not very valuable. This was when cards were overly produced. I would suggest pulling out any vintage cards (pre-1986). They hold some value. Cards from the past 15 years hold some value as well. My suggestion woud be to pull those out.
    Favorite baseball players include: Mike Schmidt, Steve Carlton, Kirby Puckett, Pete Rose, Tyler Colvin Mark Appel