No announcement yet.

2012 NBA All Defensive Teams Announced

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 2012 NBA All Defensive Teams Announced

    Miami Heat forward LeBron James, winner of the 2011-12 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award, headlines the NBA All-Defensive First Team, the NBA announced today. James totaled 53 points overall, including 24 First Team votes. He was the lone player to top 50 points.

    Joining James on the NBA All-Defensive First Team are forward Serge Ibaka of the Oklahoma City Thunder (47 points), guards Chris Paul of the Los Angeles Clippers (35 points) and Tony Allen of the Memphis Grizzlies (33 points), and center Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic (41 points). Ibaka and Allen earn First Team honors for the first time; Allen was an NBA All-Defensive Second Team selection last season.

    James led the Heat to a 46-20 mark and the No. 2 seed in the Eastern Conference Playoffs. He paced the Heat in steals (1.9 spg) and defensive rebounds (6.4 drpg), and tied for the team lead in rebounds (7.9 rpg). With James leading the effort, Miami's defense tied for fourth in opponent scoring (91.3 ppg), and ranked third in forced turnovers (16.6) and fifth in opponent field goal percentage (.434).

    Ibaka paced the league in blocks (3.65 bpg) while Paul led in steals (2.53 spg). Howard was the league's leading rebounder (14.5 rpg) as well as its top defensive rebounder (10.8 drpg). The Grizzlies allowed 96.0 points per 100 possessions with Allen on the court compared to 101.7 points per 100 possessions with him off.

    The NBA All-Defensive Second Team consists of guards Rajon Rondo of the Boston Celtics and Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers, center Tyson Chandler of the New York Knicks, and forwards Luol Deng of the Chicago Bulls and Kevin Garnett of the Boston Celtics.

    The voting panel consisted of the NBA's 30 head coaches, who were asked to select NBA All-Defensive First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.

    Attached are the results for the 2011-12 NBA All-Defensive Teams balloting. The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP.

    2011-12 NBA All-Defensive First Team
    Position Player (Team) 1st 2nd Points
    Forward LeBron James (Heat) 24 5 53
    Forward Serge Ibaka (Thunder) 20 7 47
    Center Dwight Howard (Magic) 16 9 41
    Guard Chris Paul (Clippers) 13 9 35
    Guard Tony Allen (Grizzlies) 13 7 33

    2011-12 NBA All-Defensive Second Team
    Position Player (Team) 1st 2nd Points
    Forward Kevin Garnett (Celtics) 8 10 26
    Forward Luol Deng (Bulls) 6 8 20
    Center Tyson Chandler (Knicks) 13 10 36
    Guard Rajon Rondo (Celtics) 9 11 29
    Guard Kobe Bryant (Lakers) 7 3 17

    Other players receiving votes, with point totals (First Team votes in parentheses): Andre Iguodala, Philadelphia, 19 (4); Joakim Noah, Chicago, 14; Iman Shumpert, New York, 13 (4); Paul George, Indiana, 10 (2); Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City, 9 (2); Josh Smith, Atlanta, 8 (2); Dwyane Wade, Miami, 5 (1); Thabo Sefolosha, Oklahoma City, 5 (1); Grant Hill, Phoenix, 5 (1); Tim Duncan, San Antonio, 5 (1); Avery Bradley, Boston, 3 (1); Marc Gasol, Memphis, 3 (1); Metta World Peace, L.A. Lakers, 3; Shawn Marion, Dallas, 3; Joe Johnson, Atlanta, 2, (1); Mike Conley, Memphis, 2; Derrick Rose, Chicago, 1; Jrue Holiday, Philadelphia, 1; Carlos Boozer, Chicago, 1; Luc Mbah a Moute, Milwaukee, 1.

  • #2
    Carlos Boozer got a vote? That is so crazy.


    • #3
      How do you win DPOY and not get put on the defensive 1st team? lol


      • #4

        Originally posted by leiber88 View Post
        Carlos Boozer got a vote? That is so crazy.


        • #5
          Originally posted by gladdyontherise View Post
          How do you win DPOY and not get put on the defensive 1st team? lol
          Media vote for DPOY

          They don't vote for defensive teams though....

          Serge Ibaka should have won the award anyways.
          Bucket l Los Angeles Inspiration l Tradelist
          Collecting GU/Patches/Autos:
          Dodgers, UCLA, Mexico, Adrian Gonzalez, Magic Johnson, Kobe Bryant,
          Joe Johnson, Toney Douglas, Tony Gonzalez, Matt Ryan