No announcement yet.

Saquon Barkley Wins 2018 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Award

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Saquon Barkley Wins 2018 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Award

    Giants RB Saquon Barkley win rookie honors

    Saquon Barkley, described by some as a "generational running back," is The Associated Press 2018 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year.

    Barkley, the second overall draft pick who rushed for 1,307 yards and 11 touchdowns behind a weak New York Giants offensive line, drew 26.5 votes from a nationwide panel of media members who regularly cover the league.

    Barkley edged top overall draft pick Baker Mayfield, who earned 21.5 votes. In addition to the award, Barkley also will soon be sporting a chain -- courtesy of Mayfield -- as a result of a wager with the Cleveland Browns' rookie quarterback on the outcome.

    In a rarity, a guard, Quenton Nelson of the Indianapolis Colts got two votes in balloting announced at NFL Honors on Saturday.

    Barkley also made a team-high 91 receptions -- an NFL record for a rookie running back -- for 721 yards, and his 2,028 yards from scrimmage led the league.

    Barkley is the second Giants player in five seasons to win the award; wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. took it in 2014. They are the only Giants to win it.