No announcement yet.

Troy Polamalu, Edgerrin James, & Isaac Bruce Headline 2020 NFL Hall of Fame

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Troy Polamalu, Edgerrin James, & Isaac Bruce Headline 2020 NFL Hall of Fame

    MIAMI BEACH, Fla. -- The NFL's 100th season has a Hall of Fame class fit for the celebration.

    Two of the best safeties to play in the league, a record-setting wide receiver, a fiercely-competitive offensive lineman and a do-it-all running back were selected Saturday to be enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

    Former Steelers safety Troy Polamalu and former Broncos safety Steve Atwater, former Rams wide receiver Isaac Bruce, former Seahawks/Vikings guard Steve Hutchinson and former Colts running back Edgerrin James are the Hall's Class of 2020.

    The five modern-era enshrinees were chosen by the Hall's board of selectors and were formally announced during Saturday's NFL Honors program. They will also be recognized during Super Bowl LIV on Sunday in Hard Rock Stadium.

    The newest Hall of Famers will be formally enshrined Aug. 8 in Canton, Ohio.

    Polamalu, who was an eight-time Pro Bowl selection and the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2010, was in his first year of eligibility for the Hall of Fame. Players must be retired for at least five years before they are eligible.

    Atwater, a punishing tackler nicknamed the "Smiling Assassin," was a first-team All Decade selection in the 1990s and started three Super Bowls in his career, including the Broncos' back-to-back titles to close out the 1997 and 1998 seasons. The eight-time Pro Bowl selection had at least 100 tackles in six seasons.

    Bruce was second all-time in yards receiving -- behind only Jerry Rice -- when he retired from the NFL in 2009, closing out a record-setting career that began with a 34-yard touchdown on his first NFL reception.

    Hutchinson, a powerfully athletic guard who was named to seven Pro Bowls as well as the All Decade team of the 2000s, is one of just 12 guards in league history to have been named first-team All Pro at least five times.

    James, who played collegiately at the University of Miami, retired in 2009 with 12,246 rushing yards to go with 3,364 yards receiving. He was the NFL's offensive rookie of the year in 1999 and won the league's rushing title his first two years -- with 1,553 yards rushing in 1999 and 1,709 yards rushing in 2000.