My 2012 Report Card

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My 2012 Report Card

One year ago, I created my 2012 Hobby Goals. It's time to see whether or not I completed any of them. Since I'm a teacher, I figured I'd give myself a grade for each goal and calculate a Hobby GPA for myself. Let's check out my results:

1.Create a cardboard budget and stick to it.F

I kept track of my cardboard budget for a little over a month. In other words, I failed.

2.Continue to focus on singles and sets, instead of packs and boxes.B+

Did I buy any boxes this year? Yes. But, I'd estimate that 95% of my money was spent on singles, supplies, and complete sets.

3.Complete at least one of the sets I'm currently building.A+

I ended up completing three sets in 2012: 1984 Topps baseball, 2008 Finest Topps TV Autographs, and 2008 UD Masterpieces football Captured on Canvas.

4. Shorten the length of my articles, but maintain an average of three posts a week.A-

There were a few long winded posts (including this one), but for the most part I think I met this goal.

5.Continue the tradition of running my contest this summer.A

Another summer... another contest. Mission accomplished.

6.Add five new sports card trifectas to my collection.A

I completed exactly five new trifectas in 2012: Nate Robinson, Mark Fidrych, Kirby Puckett, Chipper Jones, and Fernando Valenzuela.

7.Add a 1909-11 T206 card to my collection.F

I have several cards targeted on eBay, but I never found one at a reasonable price.

8.Stay positive and have fun, while maintaining and building more friendships with fellow bloggers and collectors.A

These past twelve months have been rough, but one of the bright spots in my life is this hobby. I truly appreciate the friendships I've made through this blog.

Okay, let's go ahead and see what my GPA is for 2012...

2.916 GPA